Loreli Blake Staff Photo
Subjects Taught
Math, Reading, Spelling

Bio

     My name  is Loreli Blake.  I was borm on November 17, 1963 in Provo Utah.  My parents were going to school at the time.  My dad was reading "Moby Dick" for one of his classes, at the time  (I guess I should read that book sometime).  I was the oldest of five children.  I have two brothers and two sisters.   My first memory about my childhood was trying to get my kitten Snowball out from under the bed.  She srcatched my face and I had the scar for quite awhile.  My parents found Snowball another home!  I had a great childhood.  We did many things together as a family and I have wonderful memories of spending the holidays with extended members of my family.

      My family lived in Idaho Falls for most of my younger years until I turned 13 years old.  Then my dad and his brother decided to move to St. Anthony and become patoto farmers.  It was a difficult time for me because I had good friends that I had been with for a long time.  I also had my first boyfriend.  At the time of our move, my mother was pregnant with my little sister Hilary and for some reason I was not happy about that.  Maybe it was the move to St. Anthony.  I felt lonely and depressed most of my junior high and high school years.  I really missed my friends.  Everything was different and I didn't feel like I fit in.  Luckily, I made friends with Janice Youngstrom and we became inseperable all through junior hight and high school.  We even lived as roommates at BYU-Idaho and BYU-Provo.  I graduated in May of 1982.  My college years were some of my best years.  I made lifelong friends and dated quite a bit.  

     In the midde of my college years,  I served an LDS mission to Bolivia.   That was a great time in my life!  I loved the people and learned alot from them.  They were very humble and gracious and they treated us like kings and queens.  It was a little frightening at first to be so far from home and I realized I had been somewhat shelter in my small-town community.  

     When my mission ended in January of 1989, I returned to college and finished my degree.  After I received my degree,  I taught one year of Kindergarten in Montpelier, Idaho.  I really loved it there but I ended up moving to Manila, Utah and teaching a 4th/5th grade split.  I really enjoyed my three years there.  I learned to cross-country ski, became a blue belt in Tae kon du and competed, and worked for the Forest Service in the summertime.  Those were good years to but I missed my family so I started to look for jobs closer to home.  I landed a job in Firth, Idaho in 1994 and taught there for a year.  Then I came across a job opening in Terreton.  I didn't even know where Terreton was or even that it existed.  I was able to land an interview and my mother drove me out because I was really sick that day.   I managed to get through the interview and I guess they liked me because I have been here for the last 20 years.  I have greatly enjoyed the students and the many opportunities I've been given to learn and grow.  I have two dogs (Maxie and Jasper) and two cats (Pepsi and Taffy) .  I love to walk my dogs.   I love to draw and paint.  I also like to read a good book when I have time and I absolutely love to watch a good movie.  Every Friday night you can find me at the movie theatre.  I have 10 nephews and 7 neices (One is deceased). I still love to do things with my family.